To spread the original, universal and eternal truth, path or law of yoga, which remains forever the same in essence, yet always adapts to the time and place.

In individual organisms, conscious energy exists in five sheaths (koshas) and operates through the entire body :

1. Annamayi Kosha The sheath of matter or the cellular body, created by prana out of anna, food.
2. Pranamaya Kosha The sheath of vital air or prana, which supports all mental, super-mental and psychic energy.
3. Manomayi Kosha The sheath of Mind, the mental body, a variety of feelings and emotions generated by the chemical soup prepared in the Annamayi Kosha.
4. Vijanamayi Kosha The sheath of knowledge beyond sensory perception, containing the Buddhi (intellect) and the Ahamkara (the Ego or I-consciousness).
5. Anandamayi Kosha The sheath of bliss, containing the chitta or pure being of individualized consciousness and non-dual cosmic consciousness.

The understanding of indian psychology is essential to the understanding of the purpose and methods of yoga.

About this page

Wil GeraetsExtracted and synthesized by Wil Geraets from the "Chakras" book, which offers detailed information on all these Koshas, including the meaning for Kundalini Yoga and Yoga in general. Click here for all extracts from this book.

Related pages

Related video : Full Class - The Layers of Consciousness (Koshas) (120')

Sanatan Society is an international networking association of students of the late Harish Johari, joining efforts to promote his teachings of yoga philosophy, tantra, worship, art and love. Sanatan Society stands for the original, universal and eternal truth, path or law of yoga. Though it is Hindu in origin, Sanatan Society is not limited to any religion, race, time or country, nor in fact to any particular organisation. More about Sanatan Society...

Thumbnail Image 1
Thumbnail Image 1
Thumbnail Image 1

Sanatan Society

About us

Contact us



Guru Brahma Guru Vishnu
Guru Devo Maheshwara
Guru Saksat Parabrahma
Tasmai Shri Guruve Namah